Insanity Week 2 Day 3 | Motivation

April 7, 2010

I had the hardest time finding my motivation this morning. I am not too sure why…just one of those days I suppose. I’ve been trucking right along and then BAM….a case of apathy hit me. Or lethargy. Or whatever you want to call it. I sat at my computer with my workout clothes on and the Insanity DVD in the player ready to go….but I just wasn’t feeling it. I figured if I just waited, the motivation would come to me….but to no avail.

I had every reason to not do my workout this morning. My ankle was/is sore, I did not sleep well at all last night, I have a lot on my plate today, and it’s super hot in our apartment (mostly because I’m stubborn and refuse to turn on the A/C in April…but our apartment admittedly is very hot even when it’s in the 70s outside). I could’ve made any excuse…and though it would’ve been just that…I could’ve…and I would’ve had a SLIGHTLY easier day.

Or would I? The guilt and/or disappointment of missing a workout. The slippery slope that missing a workout creates. The having to come on my blog and talk about how I made an excuse to not do my workout a week and a half into it when other people out there are pushing through their tough days all the same.

So, essentially…I realized that not doing it would make my day harder than doing it. And DAMNIT it felt good to be working out. Plyo Cardio Circuit…a rough, drill sgt. type of workout…and it is awesome. I feel better now than I did before. More awake…like I’ve earned the right to enjoy the rest of my day.

Keep that in mind next time you have doubts about whether you can find your motivation. It’s there. Waiting for you to pick it up off the ground, dust it off, and wear it proudly as you complete your goal. I’ve made a promise to myself…my wife…to all of you…that I will be under 200 lbs by the time we ring in 2011. I intend to keep that promise..no matter how hard it proves to be. Stay on me!

Thanks for checking in! Cardio Recovery tomorrow!

Leave a comment