Music to Get You Going

April 15, 2010

Just a different post…..this is some music that I like to listen to when I’m running. I listen to more, obviously….but just thought I’d share a few (partially inspired by Ashley Nocera’s latest post). What do you like to listen to??

“El Phantasmo and the Chicken-Run Blast-o-Rama” by White Zombie

“Bulls of Parade” by Rage Against the Machine (always been a sucker for their stuff)

“Privilege” by Incubus

“Brooklyn” by Mos Def (real hip hop) — just has a great tempo and great for keeping a pace while running

There’s more….Beastie Boys, Red Hot Chili Peppers, etc……..but what do you guys like?

16 Responses to “Music to Get You Going”

  1. Steve said

    Lostprophets, Rise Against, Hollywood Undead, Sum 41, etc…etc…etc…

    I have so much crap on my iPod πŸ™‚

  2. Jess said

    Aw yeah, Incubus.

    STEVE, you like Rise Against? Rockin’.

    My 5K playlist was a lot of 2000s pop-punk bands: New Found Glory, Finch, Starting Line, Senses Fail, The Movielife, This Time Next Year.

    iPod has Rise Against, Flogging Molly, RHCP, Fireworks, Daggermouth, Set Your Goals, etc.

    I wish I could run to metal. I love listening to metal but it doesn’t put me in the running zone.

  3. josie said

    Great choices man. I love me some Incubus. My playlists are really eclectic. I like everything from Nirvana to Sam Cooke and everything in between. Yeah, I’m an odd one.

  4. Ashley said

    Awe, thanks for the “shout-out” Anthony! I really appreciate it! And I love pretty much anything Jimmy Eat World! I’m so jealous you got to see them in concert!!! I bet they were amazing! I haven’t been to many. The only concerts I’ve been to are Hootie and the Blowfish (way back when), Jimmy Buffett, The Spice Girls-(laugh it up, haha), Youngbloodz, Fall Out Boy and The Academy Is, and Rihanna and Akon. However, I’m gonna have to force someone, someday to take me to some cooler concerts…haha. Oh and I love that song Brooklyn you posted on here, and the fact that you said “(real hip hop)”. That sounds just like something my sister’s fiance would say…he gets so mad when people call today’s “hip hop” real. He’s into 90’s hip hop. For example, “Changes” by Tupac. But, I got off track haha. As far as music I listen to…well, long story short, I haven’t updated my ipod for two years now, so I rock out to some pretty old stuff lol so I won’t list them but I usually just listen to whatever (“fake-today’s”) hip-hop/R&B music I have to keep me going along with the beat haha. But one of my favorite lines in one of the songs I listen to on a run is “Ooh Ahh” by Grits and the line says “The joy of new birth and the pain of growin up, the bliss between givin my all and givin up” …idk why but this song ALWAYS seems to come on my shuffle just about the time when I feel like stopping to walk but then I hear that line and it just keeps me going.. I seriously think music could save the world…ok maybe not, but it would sure come pretty damn close to saving it πŸ™‚ Oh and thanks for the pointers about Insanity. I think I’m definitely gonna go for it and order it. And I hope your knees start feeling better soon! Maybe this light workout day will have helped them. Either way, keep rocking out because you’re doing awesome!!!!

    • Anytime, Ashley. Yeah, Jimmy Eat World was great. That was a couple of years ago or more. I’ve seen a lot of shows…I saw Fall Out Boy at the Warped Tour once in passing…not bad…but we were on our way to the stage where the Dropkick Murphys were about to play. haha

      Yeah, I’m a fan of real hip-hop…or as I sometimes call it…intelligent hip hop….it’s gotta have a message. Mos Def, Talib Kweli, The Roots, Nas, Beastie Boys, etc.

      I am stoked that you are going to do Insanity. Let me know when you end up getting it and decide when you will start it. BTW, are you on Twitter?

      • Ashley said

        Yeah, I agree that music is always better when it has a message rather than just rhymes about bitches and hoes haha.
        I’m probably going to order Insanity as soon as this semester is over when my Penn State gym membership ends and then that way I’ll have it over summer break. I’m gonna be living and working with Cedar Point in Sandusky, Ohio all summer. I won’t actually be working in the park but at the restaurant outside of the park in the Marina. I’m excited because I’ll be able to run along the marina everyday which will make for some great scenery running alongside Lake Erie. But aside from running, I probably won’t have much access to a gym so I think Insanity will be a good alternative. I’ll definitely let you know as soon as I order it!
        And I actually don’t have a twitter account 😦 I’m kind of an idiot with technology haha. The only things I have are this, my email account for school, and Facebook. I never really got into the whole online scene. I never even had an email account until I was a senior in highschool and had to get one for college haha. My older sister is always down my back about getting AIM but idk, I just never did. My freinds and family always jokingly tease me about how I don’t know how to do anything online but hey, I’m still learning! haha. I just tell them at least I know how to work Facebook and blogger -kinda haha, and of course my blackberry lol.

      • Ashley said

        Sorry, I don’t mean to be blowing up your page haha, but I just saw your comments on my blog. Thank you for saying what you did. I really appreciate it πŸ™‚ You may have to help me if I get twitter because I won’t know how to do anything on it lol. Oh and what’s couch to 5k?

  5. Ashley, Insanity is a great alternative to not having a gym to go to…I would say it’s better for several reasons. That is awesome that you are working at Cedar Point! I love that place! I went there back in 2005 or something like that and had a great time. I think my favorite coasters there are Top Thrill Dragster and Wicked Twister. Millenium Force was good too.

    Twitter is easy. It’s basically just facebook status updates. It’s easy to get used to if you just play with it for a while. But it’s an easier way to have a conversation and not miss replies.

    Here’s a link to Couch to 5K: http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml It’s an awesome training program that allows you to gradually train to run over 3 miles. It’s the way people SHOULD start running…it helps you enjoy it more while your body adjusts. Usually people try to take on too much when they start to try running and they wig themselves out. This starts with interval training and then you work into running more at once. It’s great.

    • Ashley said

      Oh thanks! I just checked out the site and it seems awesome. Very helful. I’ll have to start following the workout plan. And I’ll let you know if, and when I get twitter.

      And I’m super excited about working at the park. I’ll probably do nothing but ride rollercoasters everyday I have off of work. I also LOVE the dragster. It’s by far my favorite coaster. Although last summer, when I was probably at my heaviest ever, I didn’t fit in the seat (SO EMBARRASSING) …but with 21 lbs gone so far (and hoping to lose at least 5 more before summer break, I’ll for sure be back on ALL of the rides πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, it’s going to be awesome for you! I think you will enjoy the running a lot more because of the gradual nature.

        Cedar Point is awesome. You’ll be on those rides, no problem! Don’t worry about that. I didn’t know you had lost 21 so far, that’s awesome! Any chance you plan on putting a ticker up so we can see your progress as time goes?

  6. Ashley said

    I actually had a ticker up a while ago but it stopped showing up on my page for some reason so I just deleted it. I was going to put up another one but truth be told, I just forgot about it..so you actually reminded me…thanks! I’ll have to look around for another one and put it up…in fact, I’ll do that now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

