The Paleolithic Diet

April 18, 2010

I found this site on the Paleolithic Diet to be really interesting. I’m picking up a book from the public library on the paleolithic diet, which has much in common with what this site has to offer. It talks about its stance on vegetarianism, barefoot running, cholesterol information, and how the diet of our hunter/gatherer ancestors really may be a healthy way to go. I am not subscribing to this just yet…but I am definitely interested in the science and benefits behind it.

Your thoughts?

4 Responses to “The Paleolithic Diet”

  1. Jess said

    I’m not a Paleo person and I don’t think I ever will be just because I’ve witnessed how hard it is to come by meat. It just doesn’t happen if you want organic, grass-fed, free-ranging animals.

    If you look at carnivorous animals in the wild, they do not eat meat on a daily basis. If a lion catches a zebra, that’s a damn lucky hunt.

    And if more than half of the world’s population is eating grains, well, I guess they must ALL be wrong. I really want to see a Paleo person actually eat only meat they physically grow or catch. Cause you wouldn’t be eating beef for a year, that’s for sure.

  2. Steve said

    I’ve heard about it, but don’t know alot of the facts behind it. I’d be interested to hear what you find out. It sounds really great in theory, and there are probably a ton of benefits, but I don’t know if I could feasibly pull it off though.

    You should take a look at nerdfitness.com, that Steve (I’m the cooler Steve, though) talks some about Paleo, barefoot running, etc…etc… too.

  3. Carla said

    I’ve been reading a lot about this way of eating the past few months, and it really intrigues me. If you try it, I would be interested to see how it works for you!

Leave a Reply

