This Week’s Fitness Itinerary

April 18, 2010

I am doing my full week of Insanity this week, but I have now sworn on to the commitment of re-doing the Couch-to-5K program, with emphasis on speed this time around. Last time I did C25K, I simply did it with completion in mind. My friend and I had the motto of K.Y.A.M…..keep your ass moving. That’s all that mattered. I will also probably go for a run or two that are of 5K length, but I will keep those as close to normal speed as possible.

So, I will probably do my runs Monday, Wednesday, Friday with a long run on Thursday and Sunday. We’ll see how the week goes, but I will get the runs in, regardless.

Anyway, just an update. Thanks for checking in!

9 Responses to “This Week’s Fitness Itinerary”

  1. Ashley said

    Hey Anthony! Good luck with a full week of Insanity! I’m so excited to be trying it in the very near future…hopefully it will work for me as well as it seems to be working for you (referring to your 5k time…YOU DID AWESOME!) And also, best of luck going back to the c25k plan to work on speed this time. I’m starting my first week of the c25k plan tonight since last week I had already been running and was away over the weekend. I like your motto, KYAM…nice! That’s what I’ll be sticking to this time around haha. I’ll let you know how it goes and thanks for sharing that site with me. It seems like it’s going to be really helpful. I’m also interested in the Tabata training. It looks pretty intense. Keep me posted on it. Oh and congrats on the loss. Slow and steady weight-loss is the way to go. While big numbers seem awesome at the time, people always say that the faster you lose it, the faster you put it back on. So don’t be discouraged with small numbers. They’ll pay off and be more permanent in the long run. Keep it up, you’re doing fantastic! 🙂

    • Ashley! 🙂 C25K is an awesome regimen, I think you will really like the results it brings! Tabata is interesting, yeah….I am thinking about incorporating it soon somehow. I have to learn more about the process first though.

      Let me know how the C25K training is going…and if you need any pointers. I am sure you will do great though.

      • Ashley said

        Ok great! I’ll let you know if I need any help with anything. Thanks! Oh and I’ve been looking more into Tabata myself and I really think it would be a huge payoff for me to try. It seems like it’s kinda in between strength training and cardio so to me, that sounds pretty damn cool! I’m going to start doing some of the workouts tomorrow so I’ll let you know what I think of them. Oh and for some reason my blog isn’t publishing everyone’s comments all of a sudden and yours was one of the ones it decided to poop out on tonight by not publishing it…but I didn’t reject it lol. But not losing control as well as the loss this weekend felt great! I’m finally in the right headspace to get on track and STAY there. All in all I’m very happy…and you should be too, Mr. Speedy 5K! 🙂

  2. Kyle said

    Anthony,

    Sounds like you have a full plate and are really making progress on your goals. Seth sent me over to say hello! I’m a C25K grad as of 3/24/2010. I’ve been running a couple days/week, but also an avid hiker. I’m here in Canyonlands National Park for the summer while my wife is a park ranger and I telecommute. I’ve been interested in the Insanity workout too, but I first have to prove that I’ll even do some basic DVDs…not a DVD guy, yet. Best wishes on your ongoing progress and I look forward to following your journey.

    • Hey Kyle, thanks for dropping in! Yeah, the C25K program is proven. I completed it in late 2008 and want to do it now with speed in mind. I am looking forward to that. I’m glad you dropped by so I can follow you now as well. Good stuff! Insanity is awesome, by the way. Results city.

  3. Jess said

    Wahooooo. Commitment for LIFE. Can’t back out now! Oh man. C25K sprint session is intense though. You really don’t realize how…continuous it is. Let me know how it goes! I think I’m going to cycle the first three weeks twice. I mean, do what works for you, but I think I want to compare the first week 1 with the second try at week 1, you know, see if I improve.

    What do you think?

    • Yeah, I am a little worried about the knees to be honest. But I will just do what I can do. haha I want to at least give it a go! I think the repeating weeks 1-3 is a good idea, so give it a shot!

  4. AndrewENZ said

    Just be careful you don’t push the running too fast. Your muscles adapt a lot faster than your joints, ligaments and tendons etc. The last thing you want to do is get injured.

  5. Dawn said

    All the talk of the C25K makes me want to try it yet again. Found my way here from Seth’s blog. Good job on the lose this week and good luck with your Insanity though at this point I have no clue what that means lol.

Leave a Reply

