Weigh-in Sunday #3

April 18, 2010

Progress Report: Week 3
Weight: 256.2
Weight change this week: -1.6
Total lost in 3 weeks: -4.6

Well…it wasn’t the 2 or 3 that I was hoping for, but I’ll take it. I’m averaging about a pound and a half loss a week, which is gradual but good. I think it’s actually the healthy way to lose weight. Sure, I’d love the bigger losses and I will take them when and if they come….but as long as I’m losing, that’s all that matters.

So, a good way to start off the day. I might weigh myself again later, but then again, I’m probably not going to do it. Rather, I’m good with the loss and I’m just happy that I didn’t gain. I didn’t track calories this past week (even though I was watching what I ate and watching portions) so this week, I think I am going to do that all week long.

Those of you who have had big losses each week, how are you doing it? Steve? Jess? Seth? Anybody? Are you eating very little carbs? Are you just busting your butt? One of my friends who has been a workout buddy for a while has told me that I am probably not losing the weight fast because I am already somewhat cardio-fit. My body has too much weight on it, of course…but my cardiovascular system is in good shape because of my athletic past (soccer, basketball) when I was younger and I’ve been running and have a lot of experience with P90X. So, it’s just a matter of getting this weight off….for good….and maybe that will just take a while.

Thanks for checking in.

6 Responses to “Weigh-in Sunday #3”

  1. Steve said

    I agree with your friend, you probably don’t have as much fat as the rest of us do b/c you were pretty fit from the getgo. The weight is coming off though, which is awesome, and when it comes off more, you might have actually some muscle definition. How ’bout them apples?

    My big weeks usually come when I’ve been really good about my diet, on the weeks where I slack, if I lose anything, it’s a low number. I’ve also starting do more by way of strength training, which I think helped with my bigger number last week. The running and the ARC trainer are only going to get me so far :/

    • Anthony said

      I have a lot of fat around the midsection area. I think that is the main problem for me, and most guys for that matter who want to lose weight. And you’re dropping quick, Steve! So just keep a good mix of those things and you will be where you want to be quick!

  2. Jess said

    I do a decent amount of cardio, but it’s not the quantity but the quality. You can do 30 minutes and not break out in sweat (which is a waste of your time). You’ll just have to keep turning your intensity up, not that I’m doubting how hard you work. It’s just sometimes when you stall, you have to find ways to make your body less comfortable. Our bodies are evil because it’s lazy and will find the most efficient ways to consume the least amount of calories while completing tasks.

    I also lift a decent amount and try to super/triple set whenever possible. And, none of that high reps low weight crap. High weights, lower reps (I usually try to aim for 8-10-12 but sometimes 6). If you’re doing loads of ab work, make sure you do lower back work too. Reflexive muscles 🙂

    You know I don’t watch my carbs, and I’m getting less terrified of fats. When I started my journey, I was all about low fat low fat and that’s just kind of psychotic too. I’m finding a good balance. I still don’t cook with oil though but I’ve found you don’t need to often (especially for stir-fries).

    • Oh, I sweat like never before with Insanity. Sometimes I have to take my shirt off in the middle of the workout just because it’s so ridiculously soaked (sorry if that’s gross, haha). Good tips! I will work on that stuff!

  3. Carla said

    I think that’s a great loss for the week! I don’t have tons of weight to lose, and it comes off very slowly. But I have lost about 12 lbs in 15 weeks, so I am happy with that!

Leave a Reply

