Insanity Day 21 | Pure Cardio; 4.5 Miles

April 20, 2010

Today could have easily been another one of those days where I just gave in….where I found the temptation of waiting to be too hard to avoid. I think I need to find a new alarm, because I (once again) did not hear it go off and woke up only to my internal clock telling me I was ultra later than I intended. I usually like to give myself plenty of time to not have to rush in the mornings. That way, I can focus on the workout(s), rather than on being done in time.

Well, I finally got up out of bed, put on my running clothes, and headed to the Statue Garden. My original goal was 5K. Once I got there, I was feeling pretty good and I thought “let’s do 2 laps around the Statue Garden.” Each lap is exactly 1.86 miles….so 3.72 miles total. So, as I ran, I noticed I was feeling pretty good and pacing myself nicely…so I said to myself “let’s just run 4 miles.” When I got to 4 miles, I decided I hadn’t had enough still….so I decided to run another half mile and call it a day. Yeah…4.5 miles in a little over 46 minutes.

Then, I got home and popped in the Insanity DVD….and thought to myself…I must be crazy. This is going to HURT. And it did. Like crazy. I pushed as hard as I could, but it was incredibly difficult. 15 minutes straight of suicides, push-up jacks, mountain climbers, etc….no breaks…just pummeling your body into submission…plus the warm-up is really hard as well.

So, I feel really good about today. A lot of calories burned and a lot of progress made…especially mentally. I had been feeling a lack of motivation coming onto me lately and this helped subside that. I’m glad. I keep overcoming my mental obstacles so far….man, I hope that continues!

Thanks for checking in!

15 Responses to “Insanity Day 21 | Pure Cardio; 4.5 Miles”

  1. Steve said

    Was this before or after you stopped Lex Luther from taking over the world, and rescued that litter of kittens from the burning building…all while replacing a flat tire on an old ladies Buick?

    I’m in awe. I really am.

  2. Ashley said

    OMG Anthony! 4.5 miles AND Insanity?? You stud.

  3. Dang man. you really have turned into a machine. I might have to give my self-titled nickname to you! Keep up all of the hard work that you are putting in. Those numbers are going to drop.

    I’m right there with Steve…in awe.

  4. whoooooooa makes me tired just thinking about it! Thanks for the blog comment, can’t wait to follow your progress!!!!

  5. Chad said

    Wow – great day of exercise! Amazing run to start off the day!

  6. Jess said

    That is awesome! Speedy McSpeederson. I’m going to keep trying to work up to your pace. What exactly does Insanity consist of? I really need to check out this stuff on youtube. It sounds…insane.

    Keep overcoming those mental obstacles. Those are the biggest ones in this weight loss process. The weight will fall off the second you get your mind in the right place. When you’re mentally healthy, your body will follow πŸ™‚

  7. Kat said

    4.5 miles AND Insanity, you’re my hero! I heart mountain climbers.

Leave a Reply

