Insanity D-23 | 5K, P&R, 100 P-Us

April 21, 2010

A big day today! I spread out the workouts to let my body recover, but it went really well overall.

First, this morning, I went for my run. I completed 3.11 miles in 30’40”. Not bad (though I am not convinced of the time, you’ll read about that in a second)! I felt like I was keeping a good pace for about the first mile or so and then I somewhat struggled the rest of the way….but I kept trying to keep it up as fast as I could. I was basically doing intervals without walking…going faster and then slowing down to a jog over and over. It wears you out doing that, but it felt great afterward. Also, my Nike+ was keeping weird pace times. I was checking in on it once in a while and it would say that I was running slower than I was and then later it would tell me I was running faster than I was. I know for a fact that my normal, comfortable pace right now is about a 10’30” mile. But it was all over the place. So, I am not sure the time is completely accurate. But either way, I feel good about it. It is the chip time I am worried about more than anything. Does anybody know why the Nike+ would do that?

I came home and rested for a bit and then went into my 100 pushups workout. It’s really quick! It only take like 5-7 minutes or so to do. Day 1 consisted of: 10 pushups, 12 pushups, 7 pushups, 7 pushups, and your max amount with a 9 minimum as a goal…with 60 second rests in between sets. I did them all with 11 as my max at the end before I started losing my form. 47 is not bad. I’ll take it.

Then, the Insanity workout for the day was Cardio Power and Resistance. It is ridiculous like the rest of them. I got it in and felt a lot better through it than I have in the past few times, so that is good. Lots of calories burned today, and I love it. I still struggle a lot and have to take a lot of breaks, but that is to be expected. I just max out as much as I can during the workout and I’m happy with that. It’s much better than spending that time sitting on the couch. But I also listen to my body and if it is telling me it is done (and I mean truly done, not just wanting to be lazy and stop), then I stop.

Alright, that’s it. Thanks guys for checking in! Time to relax and clean apartment. I have family coming in this weekend so I may not be on the computer as much as I might normally be, so if that’s the case….I will update as much as possible…just know I am sticking to everything! Take care!

10 Responses to “Insanity D-23 | 5K, P&R, 100 P-Us”

  1. I would love to hear more about your Nike +. Do you have the Ipod or the armband? I was reading about them last night for like an hour. The thing is, I already have an Ipod (Classic, not a nano) so I was thinking of just getting the armband. Thoughts? I would love for it to tell me my mileage and pace and such…if it’s accurate. But then again, I’m a beginning jogger so would it even register? lol

    • I like the Nike+ a lot overall. It’s usually pretty accurate and serves a lot of purposes. It will register anything, including walking. You can even calibrate it to your running style, which is nice. I don’t use an armband. I found that the one I was using overheated the iPod and made the Nike+ sensor mess up. So I just carry the iPod in my pocket or clip it to my waistband.

      You should definitely try it out!

  2. Kyle said

    That is one awesome day of exercise! I’m just not that intense with my exercise and need to do better. I’m very cardio focused and need to add more strength in. I also tend to do one thing and “check the box” on my exercise when I know I could do more.

  3. Ashley said

    47 pushups eh? not too shabby πŸ™‚ As expected, you’re killin’ it….already! Keep up the hard work and the pounds will just melt away! Have a good weekend with your family as well!

  4. Chad said

    Have you calibrated your Nike + yet? I haven’t taken the time to calibrate mine, but it seems to be fairly accurate, so little motivation so far to do so! πŸ™‚ Other than that, I’m not sure. I haven’t experienced anything similar with mine. Oh – one other thought – Do you have Nike + shoes, or do you wear the chip in one of those little pouches on your shoe laces? Not sure if that would affect it – but maybe… Overall, I love mine!

    Great progress by the way!!!

    • Yes, I did calibrate it. It seems to be fairly accurate usually but just this one day it was acting weird. So we’ll see how it goes from here. I do have Nike+ shoes too. I like mine a lot too, I just don’t want it to go downhill! hahahaha

  5. laura said

    anthony!! i have a lot of catching up to do, but it looks like you are doing well!

    • Laura, I’m so happy you came by the blog! It’s good to hear from you! Things are going well, but I have a long way to go! So it’d be great to have you along for the ride!

Leave a Reply

