Insanity Day 22 | Plyo Circuit; 100 Pushups Start

April 21, 2010

Hello you crazies! I’ve been reading many of your blogs lately and just amazed at what everyone is achieving. Seth has been able to complete a sub-31 minute 5K while losing weight like a madman. Talk about responding to adversity with his ankle history! Steve is another one….constantly losing weight while running spontaneous 5Ks and pushing himself week after week. Incredible inspiration. What can you say about Jess?? She pushes us (and herself) to be the best we can be! She’s adjusting to life in the VFFs, staying committed to her health goals, and recently finished her first 5K (which has definitely given her an addiction to race events, as I predicted). Ashley has 22 lbs and is not looking back. In doing so, she’s taking on a form of tabata training, C25K, AND considering Insanity for the near future. She’s rockin’ it. It doesn’t stop there….oh no, not even close……there are many, many more. You guys are true inspirations. Excellent models of how people should be self-driven…of how they should (and can) commit to themselves and strive to help others along the way. Thanks for all you do for me. If I didn’t mention you, and you’re reading this, I’m sorry…it’s simply for brevity. I read many, many blogs so you’re included if we’ve been in contact, trust me.

Plyo Circuit was today and that went pretty good, though I was REALLY tired by the end. I was trailing. Most likely, I had not had enough calories, though I felt like I had eaten enough going into it. But I will keep a close eye on that. I don’t want to not be giving my body what it needs to do these things. But I workout a lot tomorrow, so that will make up for it. 😀 I still got a great workout in, regardless of how it ended. The body was sure feeling it. I wish I had more of you doing Insanity so I could go deeper into the specifics of the workouts without losing you. But just know that there is nothing easy about this program. Just watch an infomercial, and then insert into your head that it is not a gimmick. It is for real.

I also did my fit test today for the 100 pushups program. It’s a 6-week program that gets you to the point where you should be able to do 100 pushups in a row. Once I get there, I will do a video of my “final test.” How’s that? 😀 I’m doing it for extra strength training more than anything else. It’s three days a week and doesn’t take long to do, so I figure why not. Anyway, my fit test consisted of doing as many perfect form push-ups as possible. If you lose your form, you’re done. I did 17. Not bad to start….but to think that this program is going to have me doing 83 more than that at one time is unbelievable.

Lastly, I have only 10 days until the Illinois Marathon 5K. It is at this race that I will be shooting for my first officially recorded sub-30 minute 5K. 29:59 or less is the goal! My fastest time so far is 31:48. It’s a lot to shave off, but I am hoping that my adrenaline will get me there. If not, I will go down trying! haha I’m going to change up my playlist, have on my favorite running clothes, drink a Sugar Free Red Bull….everything. haha 😉

That’s it for now. Hope you’re all doing well!

11 Responses to “Insanity Day 22 | Plyo Circuit; 100 Pushups Start”

  1. Jess said

    Like I’ve told you, you’ll rock that 5K! Focus, clear your head, and go! You can do it.

    Thanks for the awesome shout out 🙂 Really made my day. And I needed a little boost today. I gotta check out this Insanity business (you should share with me when you’re done! wink) and see how it goes. It sounds…insane hahaha.

    Nice job on the push-up! You’ll get to the 100 in no time. I can finally do one real one. So I’m going to keep practicing until I can do 10 straight. THEN, I will tackle the 100.

    • Thanks Jess! I am sure it will go great. And you should definitely try the 100 pushup thing. It’s a great way to build quick upper body strength and they have a regimen for all fitness levels….no matter if you can do 1 or 21…they have a program for you to follow that works. I am glad you could get a boost from the post. That is awesome. We all need it from time to time, I know that’s for sure.

  2. Carol said

    Thanks for the encouragement on my blog! I think having people who inspire us is so important! Of course Seth is my biggest inspiration. He pushes me and believes in me even when I don’t! Thanks for including him in this post! Good luck on your 5k goal!

    • Anytime! Thanks for dropping by here too. Yes, he’s definitely an inspiration to everyone who reads his blog regularly. Really glad to be getting to know you two’s story and I look forward to the future!

  3. Ashley said

    Thanks for the awesome encouragement once again 🙂 I really appreciate it. You’re an inspiration yourself. You have an amazing quality of always taking on a new challenge AND THEN striving for improvement. Not many people have that quality, but you do, and I’m envious of it. You’ll rock the sub-30 minute 5k! I know it! You’ll have to remind me the day before your race so I can send some extra special encouragement your way 🙂

    • Thanks! And I will do that, for sure. 🙂 I’ve been taught to aim high and that will give you bigger results. You may not get EXACTLY what you were shooting for…but you will achieve more than you would’ve if you let negativity get in the way. So, we’ll see what happens with all the goals! If nothing else, it’ll just make me stronger shooting for them.

  4. Alexia said

    Hey! Just found you. Wishing you the best with your health goals!

  5. Steve said

    WooT for shoutouts! And I think I speak for everyone when I say that have become a huge source of inspiration too! You’ve come in and right off the bat you rocked it! No excuses, no bullsh*t, nothing!

    Good luck with 100 pushups! I started it at the beginning of the year but never finished it, although I have a feeling I’m going to get a Tweet from Jess soon challenging me to tackle it again 😛

    29:59 5k, eh? Yeah, I think you got this.

  6. rissamama3 said

    Just found you, and think you are fabulous rocking a sub 30 5K tackling insanity and 100 pushups!! I have a fitness blog crush on steve, so I am glad you sent him some love he amazes me with his long runs.

Leave a Reply

