100 update & Insanity Recovery

April 29, 2010

Hey all. Quick one tonight, I have to get to bed. But I just wanted to let you know what I did today. I completed Day 1 of Week 2 of my 100 pushups program.

I just did what is in the last column, including the suggested max of 15 at the end. 63 total pushups with 60 seconds rest in between sets. It was REAL tough….muscles in the chest were flaring….I was cussing…it was awesome. haha It is definitely working me, but I can tell it is doing good in the results category. It’s hard to imagine that in 5 weeks, I should be doing 100 in a row…but I’ll trust it. haha

I also did my Core and Cardio Balance workout for the Insanity recovery week. It is a tough workout for a recovery one, but that is to be expected, I suppose. I got a lot out of it. Get this, I had to do Level 1 Drills, which include sets of 4 pushups and plank sprints. My shoulders are very weak right now from all of that. haha Burn, burn, burn! I’m nervous about Month 2 of Insanity…it’s going to be killer hard. I hope I’m ready.

One of my good friends is coming in this weekend. He is running the half marathon, and I am running the 5K. I had originally planned to run the half marathon, but I had knee issues during the winter and I decided to sack it and just do the 5K instead. That won’t happen again, I can promise you that. I am pretty darn sure that it happened because I quit running for a while….and my body was reacting to getting back into everything. No more.

Saturday morning at 7am sharp. I give it my all to run a sub-30 5K officially. To beat my 29’14” time would be even better. But 29:59 or less would be success. Will a time over 30 minutes be a failure? No, not at all. A 5K is better than none at all. But who doesn’t like a hard challenge? And who doesn’t like overcoming it?

Thanks for checking in!

5 Responses to “100 update & Insanity Recovery”

  1. Brandon said

    Awesome work on the 100 pushups man, just keep at it! In the beginning, I didn’t think I’d ever be able to make it to 100 consecutive pushups either, but at the end of the program, sure enough, I was able to do it – and I know you can too!

  2. Steve said

    63 pushups is officially awesome. I think I’m going to be restarting this in the next week or so.

  3. josie said

    WOW, I’m in awe at your pushup skills!

    I am so excited for you! Have fun Saturday crushing your PR!!!

  4. In case you don’t post tomorrow:

    Gooooooood luuuuuuuuck on sub30 run!

    You are so going to kick ass!

  5. Jess said

    What the eff. I need to learn how to do push-ups from you. I can do one, and I try for the second one but I can’t push myself back up. Dude, push-ups are hard! They are getting a bit easier though. I used to only be able to do 4 girl ones. Now I can do at least one real one.

    Anyway, aim for that sub-30 and give it your all. Even if you have to puke at the end haha. Just run your little heart out (wear a watch though because nothing sucks more than missing your goal by 2 seconds).

    Good luck buddy! Check your mail tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

