The Next 42 Days…Kicking Bad Habits

May 8, 2010

There are three things I am shooting for these next 42 days.  I want these things to become life habits, and it starts now….on top of my training and weight loss journey.  Of course, I hope these things will help the journey speed along more:


1.  No soda.
I don’t drink regular soda anymore….only diet…but still.   It doesn’t help with making me want to eat more…the sodium isn’t great for you…and aspartame has been linked to many health issues.  So, I think it’s best to replace my diet soda intake with water entirely.  For me, this is a tough one….I have tried time and again to kick soda….to no avail.  I have to do it though…it’s a necessity if I’m going to be serious about this journey.  And I am.

This will perhaps be the toughest of all of these challenges for me, but I will be posting about it regularly.  Some people say it takes 21 days to break a habit….let’s shoot for 42….on all three of these things.

2.  Stay under the suggested caloric intake from Livestrong. I use Livestrong’s MyPlate website to gauge my calories each day.  I keep my weight updated and it tells me how much I should be eating if I want to lose 2 lbs. a week.  It has everything from DV% to recording how much water you’ve had that day.  It’s awesome.  It needs to be part of my daily life…..just a routine.  I have found that I tend to not be so hungry when I record everything, because it reminds me of what I’ve eaten…which usually makes me feel full altogether, unless I haven’t had enough.

I can also update my activity for that day with calorie burn estimates and it adjusts what I should eat to that.   I usually don’t eat the extra calories if I don’t have to, but it’s there if I need it.

3.  No eating out. I cannot even begin to tell you how good it felt when I didn’t eat out once for two weeks.  My body felt excellent.  I felt good about myself.  It was a very clean feeling, so to speak.  I’ve eaten out a few times since I’m wanting that good feeling back.  So, this week…no eating out.   I have to travel to Louisville for a wedding and I am going to do my best to not eat out the whole time.  I’m going to take food from my cupboards as much as possible.    It’s not realistic to say I’ll never eat out again….obviously.  Who would I be kidding?   But, I want to make it like a once every two weeks kind of thing….if that.

So, these are my goals for the next two weeks.   Hopefully, by the end, I will want these to continue past that arbitrary time frame.  This will be a 42 day endeavor .  Twice the time many people say it takes to kick a bad habit.  Let’s put it to the test.  I am still working on my workout schedule…..which will include my running, P90X, and Insanity thrown in altogether.   P90X for strength training….Insanity for cross training and cardio….and the running for…well…running.  I’ll post the schedule when it’s finished.

Thanks for checking in!

6 Responses to “The Next 42 Days…Kicking Bad Habits”

  1. Kyle said

    Great goals…I’ve been on water and green tea mostly since I started this last November. I think you’ll be able to do this…best wishes!

  2. I like these goals! The pop thing is tough, but definitely doable. 🙂

  3. Jessica said

    Those are great goals for your 42 days. When I started this journey in January I kicked pop and have not had anything since New Years Eve. It feels great! Same goes for fast food. I used to eat out every day for lunch and it sucked. After a week of taking my lunch I could tell I felt different.

    I’m sure you will go above and beyond your 42 days… you seem like a driven and dedicated guy.

  4. Ashley said

    OMG…I totally feel you on the whole thing about stopping pop-drinking. (Yes, I said pop -it’s pop – not “soda”. End of story haha) But nonetheless, whatever you call it *strange* haha, it is a very hard habit to break. I have tried time and time again…and no luck. In fact, Im actually drinking a diet dr. pepper as I’m typing this haha. And I actually prefer the taste of diet over regular pop. I always drank diet, even when I was thin. I just like it better. So, it’s a particularly hard habit for me to break. Maybe that’s part of why I’m still overweight?? lol. BUT, I wish you TONS AND TONS of luck on that one…because I know how hard it can be. (and btw, I hate when people act like it’s easy to kick pop to the curb, where they’re like “oh I never drink pop. I only ever drink water because pop is so bad for you so I’m much healthier and blah blah blah…blah blah” -gag me. I’m all like “but pop is so hard to abandon — lay off!” hahahaha) Ok, enough of that. I think these are great goals — and maybe, one day — maybe, I’ll quit pop too (and be able to join in with those annoying people and talk about how bad it really is — becaus I do know it’s awful for us. Just oh sooooo good at the same time haha!

  5. Brandon said

    Looks like the next 42 days are going to be pretty awesome for you! One of the first things I did when I started my weight-loss journey was kick the soda habit, and it definitely helped a lot.

  6. I just kicked the diet soda not too long ago. It was tough. I allotted 4 cans in the beginning and then began to switch one can out for water with little packets of flavoring (lemon, fruit punch). The following week it was 2 cans of pop and then the rest water with flavoring (but one glass was plain water). The next 1 can of pop with the rest water (half was plain half flavored) then when I got done with the pop and was only drinking flavored water I began to ween off the flavoring by adding orange slices until VIOLA, only plain water…

    It took about 2 full months to do it and then I worked on quantity of water. January I was drinking a six pack of diet everyday and 4 months later I’m consuming on average a gallon of water everyday.

    YOU CAN DO THIS!

Leave a Reply

